The Wooleen Way shortlisted for WA Premier’s Award

The Wooleen Way by David Pollock has been shortlisted for the Premier’s Prize for an Emerging Writer at the 2019 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards.

The Awards support, develop and recognise excellence in writing. At $60,000, the Western Australian Writer’s Fellowship is one of the most valuable awards in Australian arts and open to writers of any style, medium or genre. Other than the Daisy Utemorrah Award, all the awards are open to Western Australian authors.

The winners of the 2019 Premier’s Book Awards will be announced in early August 2020 at the State Library of Western Australia.

Congratulations to David and all the shortlisted authors.

The Wooleen Way

A remarkable memoir detailing a heroic and unswerving commitment to renew the severely degraded land on Wooleen, a massive pastoral property in Western Australia’s southern rangelands.

The outback conjures many images that the Australian psyche is built upon. Its grand vistas of sweeping dusty plains and its evocation of a tough pioneering spirit form the foundation of our prosperous culture. But these romantic visions often hide the stark environmental, economic, and social problems that have inadvertently been left in the wake of our collective past.

Through retelling the struggle of his family amid droughts, financial ruin, depression, and death, David Pollock exposes the modern-day realities of managing a remote outback station. Forced by a sense of moral responsibility, he set out on an uncharted course to restore the 153,000 hectares of degraded leasehold land that he felt he was obliged to manage on behalf of the Australian people. Then, just at the point when that course seemed certain to fail, the project was saved by the generosity and faith of everyday Australians.

Read more

Related content


David Pollock

David Pollock is a second-generation pastoralist from Wooleen Station…

Quick view

The Wooleen Way

David Pollock

Cover view