The recipients of the 2022 Scribe Varuna Fellowship

Varuna The National Writers’ House and Scribe Publications are pleased to announce three literary fiction Fellowship recipients for 2022. 

Combining a Varuna residency with an intensive mentorship with Scribe editors, the 2022 program has a focus on literary fiction.

‘The three chosen authors each have strong, unique voices, creating fully realised characters through vivid language while offering dynamic new perspectives on our present moment. It’s exciting to see where these characters and these stories will go, and we look forward to working with the authors to develop their manuscripts at Varuna,’ said David Golding, Scribe Senior Editor. 

The 2022 Varuna & Scribe Fellowship recipients are:

  • Sam Elkin, Shapeshifting
  • Jacqueline Wright, Beauty and Menace
  • Nevo Zisin, What We Start With

Varuna received close to 200 manuscripts from writers across Australia for the 2022 Scribe & Varuna Fellowship. The manuscripts were each double-read in a first selection process by assessors George Haddad and Mirandi Riwoe, and a shortlist as well as the complete set of applications were sent to the editorial team at Scribe Publications for their final selection. 

‘We are so excited for the writers, and look forward to hosting them at Varuna alongside the Scribe editorial team,’ said Amy Sambrooke, Varuna’s Creative Director.

For more information, visit the Varuna website