FREE SHIPPING ACROSS AUSTRALIA

X

May new releases

Happy publication day to our six stellar new books! From elegant, slippery translated prose to satellite tracking, an illustrated guide to activism to memoir, and an examination of the US’s geopolitical standing.

Created in collaboration by Jeff Sparrow and Sam Wallman, 12 Rules for Strife is an illustrated handbook for change that shows how together we can change everything. Elegant, slippery, and provocative, Antiquity by Hanna Johansson (trans. Kira Josefsson) tells a queer Lolita story — a story of desire, power, obsession, observation, and taboo. The Mountains are High by Alec Ash is a beautifully written, candid memoir that explores the concept of ‘reverse migrating’ from the cities to the remote countryside of southwest China  — and joins them himself.

In The Internet of Animals, Martin Wikelski unveils a new scientific technology that tracks animal movements from space, perfect for readers of An Immense World. Jake Adelstein’s Tokyo Noir is a darkly comic sequel to Tokyo Vice, an ambitious and riveting work that is equal parts history lesson, true-crime exposé, and memoir. New Cold Wars by David E. Sanger is a fast-paced account of America’s plunge into simultaneous Cold Wars against Xi Jinping’s China and Vladimir Putin’s Russia, chronicling America’s return to superpower conflict.

For a chance to win one of our May books, head to our Facebook or Instagram to let us know what interests you and why.

12 Rules for Strife

Book launches in Melbourne & Sydney — RSVP here

This is a handbook for change. Because we all know ways in which life could be better. And it can be better. We can make it better.

We don’t need to wait for a leader or saviour. We don’t need to limit ourselves to comments and clicks. In this stunningly original comic-book tour of a serious topic, Jeff Sparrow and Sam Wallman explore 12 powerful ideas distilled from the history of struggle for better lives, better working conditions, and a better world. They show how solidarity can be built across growing divisions — without compromising our…

Read more

Antiquity

Elegant, slippery, and provocative, Antiquity is a queer Lolita story by prize-winning Swedish author Hanna Johansson — a story of desire, power, obsession, observation, and taboo.

Antiquity follows its unnamed narrator, a lonely woman in her thirties who becomes enamoured of a chic older artist, Helena, after interviewing her for a magazine. Helena invites the narrator to join her in the Greek city of Ermoupoli where she summers with her teenage daughter Olga. At first an object of jealousy, Olga morphs into an object of desire as the pull of Helena is transposed onto her daughter and the prospect of…

Read more

The Mountains Are High

What is it like to radically change your life? Writer Alec Ash meets the Chinese who are doing just this, ‘reverse migrating’ from the cities to the remote countryside of southwest China — and joins them himself, in an extraordinary and inspiring journey of self-discovery.

In 2020, Alec Ash left behind his old life as a journalist in buzzy Beijing, and moved to Dali, a rural valley in China’s Yunnan province, centred around a great lake shaped like an ear and overlooked by the Cang mountain range. Here, he hoped to find the space and perspective to mend heartbreak and escape the trappings of…

Read more

The Internet of Animals

For readers of An Immense World, this thrilling book unveils a new scientific technology that tracks animal movements from space and ‘could fundamentally reshape the way we understand the role of mobility on our changing planet’. —The New York Times

Animal senses are finely tuned to their environments. Rats are known to flee hours before an earthquake and birds to take flight before a tornado. Yet animal movements themselves are rarely glimpsed by humans, save for a flattened patch of grass here or a snapped twig there. What if we could track secret animal movements all over the world? What would…

Read more

Tokyo Noir

A darkly comic sequel to Tokyo Vice that is equal parts history lesson, true-crime exposé, and memoir.

It’s 2008, and it’s been a while since Jake Adelstein was the only gaijin crime reporter for the Yomiuri Shimbun. The global economy is in shambles, Jake is off the police beat but still chain-smoking clove cigarettes, and Tadamasa Goto, the most powerful boss in the Japanese organised crime world, has been banished from the yakuza, giving Adelstein one less enemy to worry about — for the time being. But as he puts his life back together, he discovers that he may be no match for his greatest enemy…

Read more

New Cold Wars

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A fast-paced account of America’s plunge into simultaneous Cold Wars against two very different adversaries — Xi Jinping’s China and Vladimir Putin’s Russia.

New Cold Wars— the latest from Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist and bestselling author of The Perfect Weapon David E. Sanger — tells the riveting story of America at a crossroads. At the turn of the millennium, the United States was confident that a democratic Russia and a newly wealthy China could gradually be pulled into the Western-led order. That proved a fantasy. By the time Washington emerged…

Read more

Related content

AUTHOR

Martin Wikelski

Martin Wikelski is the director of the Max Planck Institute of Animal…

Discover

TRANSLATOR

Kira Josefsson

Kira Josefsson is a writer and translator working between English and…

Discover

AUTHOR

Hanna Johansson

Hanna Johansson began her writing career as a critic and essayist…

Discover

AUTHOR

Alec Ash

Alec Ash is a writer and editor focused on China, where he lived from…

Discover

AUTHOR

Sam Wallman

Sam Wallman is a comics journalist and cartoonist based in Melbourne,…

Discover

AUTHOR

David E. Sanger

David E. Sanger is national security correspondent for The New York…

Discover

AUTHOR

Jeff Sparrow

Jeff Sparrow is a writer, editor, broadcaster, and Walkley…

Discover

AUTHOR

Jake Adelstein

Jake Adelstein has been an investigative journalist in Japan since…

Discover
Quick view

Antiquity

Hanna Johansson

Cover view
Quick view

The Mountains Are High

Alec Ash

Cover view
Quick view

The Internet of Animals

Martin Wikelski

Cover view
Quick view

12 Rules for Strife

Jeff SparrowSam Wallman

Cover view
Quick view

Tokyo Noir

Jake Adelstein

Cover view
Quick view

New Cold Wars

David E. Sanger

Cover view